2014-09-07 ~ The Review Stew
The Review Stew Home Contact Me About Me Blogroll/awards PR Guidelines Advertise Disclosures

Friday, September 12, 2014

College Space Saving Solutions from SANUS‏

A product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.


I definitely know what dorm life and college houses are like. Been there, done that...no space, lots of roommates, and lots of stuff! From suite-style residences to Greek houses, small and frequently shared quarters can be a tight squeeze.

But this school year, don’t let cramped spaces limit d├ęcor possibilities. To maximize space, style and organization, add SANUS®, the #1 best selling TV mount brand in the United States, to the college prep checklist. It will definitely be a lifesaver and create more floor room in your bedroom, living room or even kitchen! It takes away a bulky TV stand and mounts your TV up on the wall for all to see!


Moving to college leaves students longing for the comforts of home—from bountiful space to more than basic cable. Mounting a television is an easy way to transform any college living space into a sleek, cozy retreat, away from busy campus life. SANUS mounts extend, tilt or swivel to provide the best viewing angle, while also freeing up valuable surface area on top of furniture that’s perfect for storing books and knick knacks. College is a big adjustment for students, but making living space comfortable shouldn’t have to be—SANUS is a smart solution for the majority of students who are tight on space.

SANUS’ sleek mounting solutions are engineered with top industry technologies and tested to UL2442 standards, guaranteeing both style and safety so have no worries sending these mounts with your kids to school!

We have a SANUS mount for each TV in our house and we love them! I don't think we will ever go back to a bulky TV stand again!

Buy It: You can purchase SANUS mounts at Best Buy, Costco, Target and Walmart stores, as well as local audio and video retailers nationwide.

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

* Thank you to SANUS for their product for review! Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Fight Back to School Illnesses with Soothie Suckers & Giveaway

A product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.


School is well underway now and how many of you have children who are sick or got YOU sick?? School is a prime place to share and spread germs and many people and children I know have come down with one illness or another after school started for their children!

Are you looking for a natural way to help your children feel better or support their immune system so they fight these illnesses?? Then let me recommend one of my children's favorite "treats": Soothie Suckers!


Soothie Suckers Herbal Ice Pops bring the ancient wisdom of herbal healing to today's families in pre-portioned, BPA-free pouches, and are blended with a yummy fruit base that tastes great.

Soothie Suckers are the cool way to feel good!


The Soothie Suckers' product line launched with two herbal blends: Immune Support (Orange) and Nasal Support (Grape). These gentle blends were formulated in partnership with the President of the American Herbalists Guild, are sweetened with organic agave nectar and monk fruit and contain no artificial ingredients whatsoever.


The Nasal Support contains:
  • Echinacea – one of my personal favorite immune enhancing ability.
  • Pleurisy Root 

Immune Support contains:
  • Astragalus Root – One of the 50 fundamental herbs used in traditional Chinese medicine, astragalus is commonly used to strengthen the immune system and boost metabolism.
  • Mullein – A valued herb used by the Greek Dioscorides over 1800 years ago. It is also said that Mullein is the plant that Ulysses took with him on his legendary voyage.
  • Thyme – Best known today as a culinary spice, Thyme was grown in monasteries during the Middle Ages and has been used for centuries to promote overall health and well being. It was originally grown in the Mediterranean region and came to North America with the first colonists.

My children tried these last year during cold and flu season and not only did they love the coldness on their throat and fevered bodies, but they loved that it was a "popsicle"! I LOVED that it contains so many helpful herbs to help their bodies fight sickness and help them recover quicker. It was a great chance to put a smile on my children's faces when they are sick and that is the biggest benefit of all! :)


My children have yet to get sick this fall but I know it will happen soon with my son in school. So I have been giving them Soothie Suckers to fight any illnesses and boost their immune systems! They STILL LOVE THEM! Both flavors are great and they have a hard time picking!


Buy It: You can purchase Soothie Suckers online at Amazon for $9.99/box and drugstore.com, along with in several natural foods chains in the Pacific Northwest including Whole Foods, New Seasons, PCC Natural Markets, Chuck's Produce and more!

Win It: Soothue Suckers is generously offering (2) boxes - 1 of eac flavorto a lucky winner!

Enter here for a chance to win:
(TWO) Boxes of Soothie Suckers
(one of each flavor)


a Rafflecopter giveaway



If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

* Thank you to Soothie Suckers for their product for review! Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

Power Up for School & Serve Canyon Bakehouse Gluten-Free Products

A product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.


After years of practice most moms have the healthy lunch routine down. ; But what about back to school breakfast? The kids need a nutritious meal that’s tasty and filling enough to provide focus and energy for the long school day. You need something that’s fast, easy, and mom-approved. Plus many moms also need gluten-free options.

Canyon Bakehouse provides gluten free breads that taste and feel like “real” bread. Made with 100% whole grains for energy and nutrients, the breads are baked with ingredients you can pronounce and find in your own kitchen, such as extra virgin olive oil, organic agave syrup and eggs.


Pair Canyon Bakehouse with protein in the morning for a satiating breakfast that provides sustained energy and brain power for a productive and fun day at school.

My family is really enjoying Canyon Bakehouse products as they head to school and work each morning!


My husband LOVES the Cinnamon Raisin Bread and the Cranberry Crunch Muffins. They give him a great boost in the morning for work and help him think straight and be alert.

My children love the 7 Grain bread for breakfast and lunch - with bananas and peanut butter is their favorite! Plus, they love having their hamburgers on hamburger buns when we grill!

As you head back to school try these gluten-free breakfast ideas:


· Cinnamon Raisin bread with almond butter or peanut butter. Canyon’s Tip: choose all-natural nut butters to avoid harmful trans fats.

· Mountain White cheese and avocado sandwich. Canyon’s Tip: Avocados are a great source of healthy fat for energy and keeps the belly full.

· 7-Grain toast with a slice of turkey. Canyon’s Tip: lunch foods (ie: turkey) make great breakfast foods since they’re low sugar and full of protein.

· Cranberry Canyon Crunch Muffin with a hard-boiled egg. Canyon’s Tip: hard-boil a bunch of eggs on Sunday for quicker prep each morning.


Plus Canyon Bakehouse gluten-free breads are great for lunch sandwiches, so kids can love PB&J again! At school about 2 students in each classroom have a food allergy. To help parents prepare for the school year, here’s our checklist for staying safe with food allergies:

Tips for Staying Safe at School With Food Allergies


· Keep teachers and staff in the know – Set up a meeting before the first day of school with your child’s teacher, the school nurse and principal to talk about your child’s allergies.

· Provide a list of safe and unsafe foods for your child – Especially with gluten allergies, many people don’t understand what it is or where it can be found. Creating a quick run-down of foods to avoid will eliminate fear or confusion on the school’s part.

· Make an allergy action plan – Provide the school staff with medical information, emergency contact info and a food allergy action plan in case your child has a reaction at school.

· Attitude is everything – Along with school staff, it’s important to talk to your child about the allergy so he/she understands it. If you don’t treat the allergy as something “weird” then they won’t feel embarrassed.

Buy It: You can purchase Canyon Bakehouse products for $5 each from the Canyon Bakehouse website.

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

* Thank you to Canyon Bakehouse for their product for review! Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Soap Nuts Liquid and Moringa Tea & Giveaway

A product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.


I am a huge fan of Soap Nuts and use only them for our laundry for many years now. I love how easy they are to use, how eco-friendly they are and so safe for all my wash - even cloth diapers! Plus, they last forever it seems like and do a lot of loads with one bag! The only downfall for me (and this is pure laziness and busyness) is that you have to search for the soap nut bag after every load and sometimes it can be hard to find!!!

That is why I am loving my new Soap Nuts Liquid Laundry Detergent from Green Virgin Products! I get the both of best worlds - safe, natural laundry detergent in an easy to use liquid form!


We ALL want healthier, cleaner products, but we DON'T want to give up on effectiveness. You CAN have it both ways with Green Virgin’s Soap Nuts Liquid Laundry Detergent. You can also save money….one bottle (smaller than a can of Coke) does 120 loads! Oh….and you won’t need any fabric softener—just try it out and see how soft your clothes come out! PLUS, you’ll be doing the earth a favor by using this product that actually has a negative carbon footprint!

Many consumer branded laundry detergents contain toxic ingredients. Whether it's Diethanolamine, Quaternium-15, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS), 1,4-Dioxane or some other chemical, it’s a good idea to understand the harmful potential that ingredients such as these can pose to you and your family.

There are safer alternatives in the market place that work just as well as major consumer brands and a great alternative is definitly Green Virgin’s Soap Nuts Liquid, which not only contains natural, non-toxic ingredients; but does not contain even a trace of 1,4 Dioxane!

What is a Soap Nut?

AND 

How Does It Work??


The fruit of the Chinese Soap Berry Tree, these awesome berries are harvested and then dried in the sun. No chemicals of any kind are added. Green Virgin only sells soap nuts that have the highest saponin content (a natural surfactent) which is found in the shell. Saponin has incredible cleaning abilities and other major advantages over synthetic toxic chemical cleaners. Soap nuts are also hypo-allergenic, completely green and economical!

WHAT IS SOAP NUTS LIQUID?


Green Virgin's Soap Nuts Liquid is made from USDA Certified Organic Sapindus Mukorossi Soap Nuts. The saponin is extracted using only water. The processing is all done using high tech filters free of any chemicals. This is an important step that most of their competitors are not capable of.

I have found the liquid detergent to be just as effective and much easier to use than the soap nuts and I love just squirting in three squirts in each load and being done thinking about the soap for every load! My clothes come out clean, smelling fresh and soft!

Another great item from Green Virgin is Morings Tea! 

Moringa Tea, is a green superfood!


The leaves of the Moringa tree were recently identified by the World Vegetable Center as the vegetable with the highest nutritional value among 120 types of food species studied. Easily cultivated and resistant to drought, this tree produ ces plentiful leaves with a high concentration of proteins, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.

I love drinking this tea not only to help my milk supply for nursing but it is a nutritional, warm tea that is great on a cold morning!

Ingredients: 100% Organic Moringa Oleifera Leaf Powder in tea bags. No fillers. We also carry a gourmet Loose leaf Moringa tea.


Buy It: You can purchase all Green Virgin products including Soap Nuts Liguid Detergent and Moringa Tea from the Green Virgin website

Win It: Green Virgin Products is generously offering (1) 30 Moringa Tea Bags & 16 oz Soap Nuts Liquid to a lucky winner!

Enter here for a chance to win:
(1) 16 oz Soap Nuts Liquid Laundry Detergent 
+
30 Moringa Tea Bags
from 
Green Virgin Products

a Rafflecopter giveaway



If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

* Thank you to Green Virgin Products for their product for review! Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Book Review: All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes

A book was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.


About the book:

Kat Varland has had enough of chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry.

At twenty-six years old, Kat is still living in the shadows of her family in Bayou Bend, Louisiana. Still working shifts at her Aunt Maggie's bakery. Still wondering what to do with her passion for baking and her business degree. And still single.

But when Lucas Brannen, Kat's best friend, signs her up for a reality TV bake-off on Cupcake Combat, everything Kat ever wanted is suddenly dangled in front of her: creative license as a baker, recognition as a visionary . . . and a job at a famous bakery in New York.

As the competition heats up, Lucas realizes he might have made a huge mistake. As much as he wants the best for Kat, the only thing he wants for himself---her---is suddenly in danger of slipping away.

The bright lights of reality cooking wars and the chance at a successful career dazzle Kat's senses and Lucas is faced with a difficult choice: help his friend achieve her dreams . . . or sabotage her chances to keep her in Louisiana.


About the author:

Betsy St. Amant lives in Louisiana with her young daughter and has a heart for sharing the amazing news of God's grace through her novels. A freelance journalist, Betsy is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. When she's not reading, writing, or singing along to a Disney soundtrack with her daughter, Betsy enjoys inspirational speaking and teaching on the craft of writing.


My Opinion

I am a huge fan of Food Network and the Cupcake Wars show so when I saw this book is based on cupcakes and a cupcake competition, I was instantly excited to read it! However, I didn't know if it would hold my attention or be a good read...or just fluff.

And I am so excited to tell you that this book was amazing from start to finish! It was a fun, romantic, Christian book that had me never wanting to put it down until the very end!

I loved the friendship between Lucas and Kat because that is how my husband and I started our relationship - he was my best friend for four years before we started dating so I totally could relate to Lucas and Kat. I loved watching their relationship finally move to the next level and their relationship grow and strengthen.

This book was overall very well written and so fun to read! I highly recommend if you like cupcakes and love! :)

Buy It: You can purchase All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes for $9.71 from Amazon.com

Don't miss Betsy St. Amant's latest fiction release, All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes. A "sweet" tale of two best friends and the choices they make between dreams and a possible "sure thing," St. Amant's novel is sure to satisfy your romantic-fiction craving.

cupcakes-400-click

Betsy is celebrating with a fun Kindle giveaway and a Love & Cupcakes Facebook party!
One winner will receive:
  • A brand new Kindle
  • All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes by Betsy St. Amant
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on September 18th. Winner will be announced at the "Love & Cupcakes" Author Chat Party on 9/18. Betsy will be hosting a "sweet" book chat, giving away prizes, and answering questions from readers. She will also share an exclusive sneak peek at her next book project!

So grab your copy of All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes and join Betsy on the evening of September 18th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP todayTell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 18th!


If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

* Disclosure - This book was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

#MazeRunner Prize Pack Giveaway

This post is brought to you by 20th Century Fox.


THE MAZE RUNNER
20th Century Fox

In Theaters September 19

The Maze Runner is coming to theaters soon!! Check out more info about the movie below and enter to win a fun Maze Runner prize pack below!

“Meet the Gladers” Featurette




About the film

When Thomas (Dylan O'Brien) wakes up trapped in a massive maze with a group of other boys, he has no memory of the outside world other than strange dreams about a mysterious organization known as W.C.K.D. Only by piecing together fragments of his past with clues he discovers in the maze can Thomas hope to uncover his true purpose and a way to escape. Based upon the best-selling novel by James Dashner.


Rated: PG-13

Starring: Dylan O’Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Will Poulter, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Aml Ameen, Ki Hong Lee

Directed By: Wes Ball

Produced By: Ellen Goldsmith-Vein, Wyck Godfrey, Marty Bowen


Check Them Out Online:

Visit the Official Website
Like ‘The Maze Runner’ on Facebook
Follow @MazeRunnerMovie on Twitter
Follow on Google+InstagramYouTube

Win It: 20th Century Fox is generously offering (1) $25 Visa gift card to see the film in theaters, Copy of the book (movie tie-in cover) and Money Maze to a lucky winner!


Enter here for a chance to win:
(1) Maze Runner Prize Pack
including: 
  • $25 Visa gift card to see the film in theaters
  • Copy of the book (movie tie-in cover)
  • Money Maze

a Rafflecopter giveaway


If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

This post is brought to you by 20th Century Fox.*

Bundle Organics Beverages

A product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.



As you know, I recently had baby #3 and am currently breastfeeding my little guy. Sometimes, with three crazy children running around and keeping me busy, I don't eat as healthy as I want to. But lately I have been feeling better about my diet because I have been drinking Bundle Organics, the first line of organic prenatal juices that is specifically for pregnant and breastfeeding moms. With all the key nutrients recommended for moms and baby, ie. folic acid, vitamin D, calcium, Omega-3, these juices are keeping me hydrated and healthy during these hot summer months.

Bundle Organics is a simple delicious way to get the nutrients you and baby need from one little bottle, Bundle Organics prenatal juices are packed with organic fruits and veggies with an extra bump of essential vitamins for baby’s healthy development. Plus, these juices are pasteurized so you can sip worry-free!

My favorite part is that they are all USDA Organic. These juices contain only the best and brightest organic fruits and veggies. Flavorless produce need not apply.

Plus, these juices supplement prenatal vitamins with an extra bump of key vitamins and minerals for healthy development. Folic acid (200mcg). Check! Calcium (100mg). Check! Vitamin D (60IU). Check! Omega-3 (500mg). Check!

My favorite flavor was the Dark Berry Veggies.


This dream team of super fruits (packed with the antioxidant power of dark berries) and veggies (Yes, you read that correctly. There’s spinach and kale up in here!) add some much needed pow! to your morning, afternoon, evening or I-just-need-to-rest-my-feet-time.

What's in this?

Folic acid: There’s a good reason doctors are enthusiastic about folic acid. It works wonders, helping with cell growth and development.

Calcium: Your little one needs calcium to build those nervous, muscular and circulatory systems. So build, baby, build! Not mention, you need a lot of calcium too!

Vitamin D: Promotes calcium absorption for healthy bone growth, so there’s no stopping your little Hercules-in-training!

Omega-3: The smart stuff! Omega-3 fatty acids support baby’s brain and eye development.

Iron: Your need for iron doubles during pregnancy. Why? It’s an important component of hemoglobin, which ensures your body is carrying enough oxygen to your placenta.

Dark berries: Those mighty, mighty berries are packed with that oh-so-necessary vitamin C for baby’s immune system, potassium for baby’s heart and even folate to protect against birth defects.

Spinach: A folic acid wonder, spinach is also a rich source of beta carotene, which the body can easily convert to vitamin A (it’s recommended women increase their vitamin A intake by 40% when pregnant and by 90% when breastfeeding). Not to mention it’s also packed with potassium and manganese – a heart healthy must-have.

Kale: Packs more iron per calorie than beef, more calcium per calorie than milk and ten times more vitamin C than spinach! And we haven’t even talked folic acid. Can you say super food?

I will be honest...you definitely taste the vegetables in these drinks. These are not super sweet smoothies by any means but they are healthy and I feel good drinking them every time! Plus, they give some flavor to my day opposed to the plain old water I usually drink!

I highly recommend these organic juices if you are pregnant and nursing! They are healthy, packed full of nutrition, organic and will give you the boost you need throughout the day!


Buy It: You can purchase Bundle Organic Beverages for $18 for a 3-pack from the Bundle Organics website


If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers



* Thank you to Bundle Organics for their product for review! Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

Monday, September 8, 2014

This Is Where I Leave You...Coming Soon! #TIWILY

This post is brought to you by Warner Bros. Pictures.


THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU

Warner Bros. Pictures
In theaters September 19, 2014


About the Film

When their father passes away, four grown siblings, bruised and banged up by their respective adult lives, are forced to return to their childhood home and live under the same roof together for a week, along with their over-sharing mother and an assortment of spouses, exes and might-have-beens. Confronting their history and the frayed states of their relationships among the people who know and love them best, they ultimately reconnect in hysterical and emotionally affecting ways amid the chaos, humor, heartache and redemption that only families can provide—driving us insane even as they remind us of our truest, and often best, selves.


This Is Where I Leave You stars Jason Bateman, Tina Fey, Adam Driver, Rose Byrne, Corey Stoll, Kathryn Hahn, Connie Britton, Timothy Olyphant, Dax Shepard and Jane Fonda

Based on the novel "This Is Where I Leave You" by Jonathan Tropper

Check Out the Trailer:


Join the Book Club!


It’s always fun to read the book before the movie, right? Join Warner Bros. Pictures’ #TIWILY book discussion on the film’s Facebook page each Wednesday, and take part in the conversation for a chance to win signed movie posters and a trip to the premiere in Hollywood!

Official Websites 

 #TIWILY

Visit the official website
Like This is Where I Leave You on Facebook


If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

This post is brought to you by Warner Bros. Pictures *

Conquer Math & Science Classes with the TI-Nspire CX Calculator!

A product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.



Looking for a calculator that will take your student from beginner math classes onto advanced college math courses?? Then let me recommend the TI-Nspire CX, the coolest tool from Texas Instruments for back to school. A one-time purchase will take students from middle school math and science courses through advanced college level work, so it will help save parents money in the long haul!

Plus, the TI-Nspire CX is also allowed on high stakes exams including the SAT and ACT and comes bundled with software so students can transfer their class work to their computer for deeper investigation after-school.


The TI-Nspire™ CX handheld is a robust, hands-on learning tool that satisfies math and science
curriculum needs from middle school through college.

The most sophisticated graphing technology on the market today, the TI-Nspire CX is much more than a calculator. It is more like a mini-computer that enables students to gain a deeper understanding of abstract concepts in math and science subjects.


Benefits & Features

  • One-Time Investment. TI graphing technology is a one-time investment that will last students from middle grades through high school math and science, and into college and career.
  • Math and Science. The versatile graphing calculator is recommended for math courses from Pre-Algebra to advanced Calculus, and science courses such as Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
  • Save and review work at home. Each handheld comes with student software for students on the go. Students can create interactive reports or study guides with the software and transferring homework files is easy, allowing for deeper investigation outside class
  • Permitted on high-stakes exams. Allowed on the SAT, ACT, PSAT/NMSQT, AP, Praxis and IB exams, as well as many state assessments.
  • Fancy features. Bright, full-color screen, built-in rechargeable battery and durable enough to pass the backpack test.

This calculator is definitely the one I would have wanted through all my years of education and definitely the one your student will want too - they will be the envy of all their math and science classes with this TI-Nspire CX calculator. 

 For more information and retail availability, please visit education.ti.com


Buy It: You can purchase The TI-Nspire CX at most major retailers and from Amazon.com.

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

* Thank you to Texas Instruments for their product for review! Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*